Avington Park was originally mentioned in the Domesday Book. Later it was described by William Cobbett as “one of the prettiest places in the County”. The house was owned by the Dukes of Buckingham and Chandos up until 1857 when it played host to Charles II and George IV. It then passed onto the Shelley-Rolls family until just after the war, when it was bought by Col JB Hickson. It remains in the family trust.
The house boasts wonderful rooms - the beautifully painted main hall, the library overlooking the south lawns, adjoining and leading onto a unique pair of conservatories, the old dining room and the ballroom upstairs with a magnificent gold plasterwork ceiling and painted panels - yet Avington retains the atmosphere and warmth of a family home.
Avington Park is open to the public from May to September on Sundays, Bank Holiday Mondays and Mondays in August from 2.30pm – 5.30pm – last tour at 4.30pm. Tea bar serves homemade cakes and locally made ice-cream.
The venue is open all year round for weddings, meetings, private parties, group visits and corporate events.